Cover of the Evanescence single "Bring Me...

Cover of the Evanescence single “Bring Me to Life”. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was driving in my car this morning when a song came on the radio. It was Evanescence’s ‘Bring Me To Life’ – and it brought back some memories.

I was taken back to Grade 6; I think it was, right about the time that song came out. One of my best friends listened to it, liked it, and decided she liked the band Evanescence. Our circle of friends at school (in all our maturity and self-righteousness) were ultra-concerned…we thought she was into devil music and staged an intervention.

Oh, the trials of Grade 6. Those were the days when we got jealous about someone stealing our favourite lunch spo

t, and I think we all read the Babysitters Club books and wanted to start our own Babysitters Club. Luckily, I don’t think anyone ever entrusted us with their children!!

But back to the song – when it came on the radio this morning, I listened to it and smiled. Obviously, it wasn’t ‘devil music’, and I’m happy to report that my best friend is still a lovely Christian young lady, doing great things for God.

In fact, far from the days in Grade 6 when we thought boys were yucky and smelly, that friend was my maid of honour just over a year ago. How far we’ve come!

Maturity changes your perspective on things – they do say hindsight is 20/20! I’m reminded of the passage of Scripture from 1 Corinthians 13 (The Message) that says – We don’t yet see things clearly. We’re squinting in a fog, peering through a mist. But it won’t be long before the weather clears and the sun shines bright! We’ll see it all then, see it all as clearly as God sees us, knowing him directly just as he knows us! But for right now, until that completeness, we have three things to do to lead us toward that consummation: Trust steadily in God, hope unswervingly, love extravagantly. And the best of the three is love.

I love that – trust steadily, hope unswervingly, and love extravagantly. I had to include that because it was just so well said!

If now, looking back on Grade 6, I laugh at things that were once such a big deal…I wonder how I’ll look back and laugh one day about my twenties. I know that right now, I don’t see things clearly – I don’t have a maturity perspective yet. But I look forward to the day when I see it all as clearly as God sees us – and in the meantime I guess all that’s left to do is trust steadily, hope unswervingly, and love extravagantly.

