Tags

, , , ,

It’s been a tough weekend.

I attended a funeral on Friday, for a great man and a highly respected colleague who was tragically taken way before his time. This man was my former boss and the state director of news for the tv network I used to work at…so I saw a lot of old colleagues, friends and community members at the funeral – it was amazing how many lives this man touched.

I’ve been struggling to deal with his death ever since I heard the news – I’ve cried more than a few tears. The most heartbreaking thing is thinking of the wife and baby daughter he left behind…I can only imagine what they must be going through.

As a dear friend of mine pointed out, we’ve been pretty blessed in our young lives so far to not have to be exposed to this kind of tragedy and grief. As a result, I don’t quite know how to feel, and husband doesn’t quite know what to do with this crazy woman who suddenly goes quiet or teary for no expected reason.

Add to that, it was awful weather this weekend, rainy and yucky, just the kind of weather to curl up and cry in.

The funeral program had a very touching thing on the back – it said that Shaun would have liked to be remembered with a smile on our faces, not a tear in our eyes. So, moving into this week, I’m going to try my best to do just that, and replace the tears in my eyes with a smile on my face.

I’ve started off well, I managed to haul myself off the couch last night and do some work, and I dragged myself out of bed this morning and hit the gym. I definitely think the investment in my gym membership is paying off so far…I’ve lost two kilos and feel SO much better about myself already!

Time to go wake husband dearest up and get myself ready for work… I can do this!

